SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2004, 05:13 PM   #1
diestrutionomeg
Member
diestrutionomeg is on a distinguished road
 
diestrutionomeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warrensburg, Mo
Posts: 240
 

1992 SL2
Default check engine light, no code

I just replaced my clutch, and after taking the connectors off that i needed to, and putting them all back together, i had gotten a code 14, because i had mixed up two of the wires. After fixing that, the code went away. Now, the check engine light comes on after a few minutes of the engine running, but im not pulling any codes from it.
Does anybody have any ideas on what is going on?
It also is taking a little bit longer to start up then before, but all of my gauges are functioning properly. I think it may be the o2 sensor, but im not sure.
thanks for your help,
-Omnicron

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to diestrutionomeg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help diestrutionomeg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
diestrutionomeg is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 08-02-2004, 05:16 PM   #2
diestrutionomeg
Member
diestrutionomeg is on a distinguished road
 
diestrutionomeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warrensburg, Mo
Posts: 240
 

1992 SL2
Default

by the way, i have a 92 SL2, with a manual transmission.
-Omnicron

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to diestrutionomeg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help diestrutionomeg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
diestrutionomeg is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 05:27 PM   #3
Gridlocked
Junior Member
Gridlocked is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 18
Default

I took my car to Autozone to get the codes read and it didn't work. After buying my own diagnostic tool, I was able to get the codes. Is your (or the tool you used) good?

Just a possibility.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Gridlocked's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Gridlocked reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Gridlocked is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 07:35 PM   #4
diestrutionomeg
Member
diestrutionomeg is on a distinguished road
 
diestrutionomeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warrensburg, Mo
Posts: 240
 

1992 SL2
Default

ive got a pre obd II system in my car, to pull the codes, you short out two pins under the dash, turn the key to on, and the check engine light will flash out the code.
It only flashes twelves, which are its code to let you know its starting and ending, so its saying it has no stored codes.
-Omnicron

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to diestrutionomeg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help diestrutionomeg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
diestrutionomeg is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:30 PM   #5
wolfman
Super Member
wolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of light
 
wolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,066
 
Default

Unmodified car?
Does it have ABS?

There are codes that only a scan tool with propietary Saturn software can retreive depending on the equipment level of the car..

...
Old Saturns never die, people KILL them, so check your damn oil!
"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth." Albert Einstein

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wolfman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help wolfman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
wolfman is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:33 PM   #6
diestrutionomeg
Member
diestrutionomeg is on a distinguished road
 
diestrutionomeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warrensburg, Mo
Posts: 240
 

1992 SL2
Default

Its all stock, no abs.
Can i use that machine without going to the dealership?
-Omnicron

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to diestrutionomeg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help diestrutionomeg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
diestrutionomeg is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:58 PM   #7
wolfman
Super Member
wolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of light
 
wolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,066
 
Default

In unmodified trim and with no ABS you should be able to retrieve any codes (OBD1) with no issues using the "paperclip trick" I am thinking at this point that either:

A. There is still a sensor or wiring problem in one of the PCM sensor circuits or perhaps a blown fuse supplying power to the PCM memory circuit.

B: The code "reader" (unneeded for OBD1) is having a communication issue with the PCM related to the reader not the PCM.

...
Old Saturns never die, people KILL them, so check your damn oil!
"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth." Albert Einstein

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wolfman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help wolfman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
wolfman is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 12:56 AM   #8
sierrap615
Master Member
sierrap615 is on a distinguished road
 
sierrap615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Downers Grove, Illinois
Posts: 2,538
 
Default

be sure all the connects are tight,if the connector was loose and it reconnected itself, i beleave the code go right away

...
Formerly - Saturn of Downers Grove Parts Department
Current - Castle Chevy in Villa Park Parts Department

EPA 608 Certification
EPA 609 Certification

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sierrap615's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sierrap615 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sierrap615 is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check engine light and Code P0221 jgt157 L-Series Tech 5 06-04-2018 08:16 PM
check engine code 11, coolant hot light flashes code 23, 95 SL2 2003MercMaraude S-Series Tech 2 10-23-2009 06:17 PM
Check engine light on=O2 sensor code Nocturnal One S-Series General 14 05-30-2007 10:47 AM
check engine light.. no code??? runerx Vue Tech 4 04-17-2006 01:17 AM
Check Engine Light Code 0404 whosgreg Miscellaneous Tech 1 12-07-2004 01:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:21 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.