SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-03-2008, 09:17 AM   #1
Commando44
Commando44 is on a distinguished road

2001 SL2
1994 SL1
Default Age old problem....oil

1994 Saturn SL 1
As many of the users here on Saturnalia have discovered, some cars burn oil. I am preparing to replace the little black things on the top of my single cam engine this week end. Some oil leaks from one of them, but not all that much. The culprit I believe is inside of the engine. As you can tell from my terminology of engine parts, I am not a very handy mechanic. I have very little knowledge or tools to do anything on a car. What is the best way for me to slow oil consumption without doing a valve job or engine soak? I am using about a quart of oil about every tank and a half. Since I am not that handy and lack space and tools, my oil is changed by the evil empire of Jiffy Lube. I can get topped off on oil for free between oil changes. My car runs excellent! It idles at .75 and never is in the red for any reason. I want to drive it till the wheels fall off.

1. What can I do to slow oil consumption?
2. What weight oil should I use?
3. Any other advice?

Commando44
'01 SL1 in loved condition

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Commando44's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Commando44 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Commando44 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-2008, 09:59 AM   #2
RobertJ
RobertJ will become famous soon enough

1999 SL2
Default Re: Age old problem....oil

http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/sho...&highlight=MMO

Here's a thread regarding Mystery Marvel Oil that some have had luck with. If you do a search on MMO you'll find even more.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!