SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-19-2007, 07:51 PM   #1
mardens.com
mardens.com is on a distinguished road

Default To get at the timing chain... ?

The instructions on Autozone's site for DOHC say to remove timing chain cover buit don't mention any prerequisites... don't you have to remove a bunch of other crap first? Don't you have to take off the crank pulley and the tensioner pulley first? And the cam cover? (Sorry... novice here, have read many timing chain threads here but still unsure).

Also, when removing the timing chain cover and the valve cover do new gaskets need to be put on?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to mardens.com's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help mardens.com reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
mardens.com is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-19-2007, 07:59 PM   #2
geartooth94
Master Member
geartooth94 will become famous soon enough

Default Re: To get at the timing chain... ?

its a pain in the neck to do it in-frame but it can be done. i did one on an SOHC engine and it wasn't that bad.

you do need a new gasket (RTV bead only) on the timing cover. if you're using an OEM rubber gasket on the valve cover and it is in good shape you can re-use that one. don't forget to re-do the points on the chain cover where it meets the valve cover with a little extra RTV.

practice doing a dry-run on everything before attempting to get the chain cover back on the car permanently with wet RTV. that way you won't knock it out of place on the re-install.