SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series Tech

Old 04-23-2008, 03:36 PM   #1
batmobile
batmobile is on a distinguished road

1994 SL2
Question Can I change my odometer reading?

The odometer on my 94 SL2 stopped a while ago and I am about to change out the 25 tooth gear that is the usual culprit in these cases. I estimate that I have put about 5K miles on the car since it stopped and I would like to add that to the current reading to more accurately reflect the true mileage of the car. I know it is possible to adjust the mileage counter but I have no prior experience in this area so I am wondering how easy it is to do. I don't want to break something else while trying to do this.
batmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-23-2008, 04:38 PM   #2
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Can I change my odometer reading?

You can run into some legal issues when you knowingly alter the odometer readings. But putting those aside, if you can hook up the odometer gear or spindle to a drill somehow, you could probbaly put it back up around hwere it belongs. I know a guy that used to do this, only in reverse But the auto makers got smart and the digits seperate when you run in reverse and it looks tampered with.

Oh and another thing. You have an S-series, not an L-series. The L-sereis was a midsize car from Saturn. The L in SL or SL1 or SL2 gets people confused sometimes.
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 04:52 PM   #3
batmobile

1994 SL2