SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2003, 04:00 PM   #1
95sl2urbo
Member
95sl2urbo is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: san diego
Posts: 215
Default RADIO problem? and door lock problem please help

Ok you guys have been so helpful before lets see if you got anything for this one.

Recently i was driving with my sony cd player pretty loud and i switched from the radio to the CD it started playing and then JUST TURNED OFF like there was no power going to it. Almost like a fuse blewand it wouldnt turn back on. I checked the fuses, my dad helped hes a electrician kinda, the fuses inside there is a radi i checked that one and then there is a fuse on the sony unit itself and i checked that one too. It was fine. i checked to see maybe if ther was no power going to the unit. there definately was. I played with the fuses inside the car and mixed some of the 10s around. Im not sure if this happened when i did that or before but now when my driver door opens nothing in my car senses that it is open. the light only comes on for the other doors. also when i try to unlock all doors by turning the key twice in the door it doesnt work the locking does work for all but not unlocking. This is weird so i went to play with fuses again and i got nothing. sitll broken. im in college during finals its stressful enough and now i got a car with a whiny belt brakes that need to be fixed oil change and now this. i will be forking over money soon but this hopefully be fixed and i can take it to the place i got it. its been under a year so i will do that but i still wanna know if anyone has ideas??? PLEASe give me any insight or instructions. Or questions
thank you!
-Keith

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to 95sl2urbo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help 95sl2urbo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
95sl2urbo is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-15-2003, 04:52 PM   #2
Bsmith
Member
Bsmith is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Liberty, SC
Posts: 156
Default

My vote is the chime fuse. If you kill the chime the radio won't work either. It's in the in car fuse box. I blew the chime fuse doing the same thing as you. All other fuses were fine. I think it's a 3.5A or 7A mini fuse.

...
Sold it when I moved. sniff... sniff....
'95 SC2 funky rootbeer color. Yes I know black gold.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Bsmith's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Bsmith reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Bsmith is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 04:56 PM   #3
Dach
Senior Member
Dach is a jewel in the roughDach is a jewel in the roughDach is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,033
Default

You beat me to it, only I believe it's a 5 amp. Make sure you replace it with a 5.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Dach's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Dach reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Dach is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:39 PM   #4
95sl2urbo
Member
95sl2urbo is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: san diego
Posts: 215
Default

thank you you were right!!!!!!
thank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank youthank you thank you thank you

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to 95sl2urbo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help 95sl2urbo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
95sl2urbo is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 11:37 PM   #5
amazinghl
Master Member
amazinghl will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,989
Default

And make sure you have the correct size fuse for everything...

Don't turn your radio up that high again!

...
85 GLH 367whp. http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2261629#post2261629
00 Insight 72mpg

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to amazinghl's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help amazinghl reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
amazinghl is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:25 AM   #6
TedL
Senior Member
TedL is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glenmont, NY (near Albany)
Posts: 1,640
 
Default

This results from what i consider to be very poor design by some stereo manufacturers. My son had the same problem. Basically, they have the amplifier draw power from the "always on" power, (supplied by the 5 amp fuse in the Satty) rather than the switched power wire which comes off a circuit that could handle it.

If you're talking normal unit with, say, a 10 amp draw max, you can connect to a different circuit. Higher draw, run a sepate fused wire.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to TedL's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help TedL reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
TedL is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:28 AM   #7
95sl2urbo
Member
95sl2urbo is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: san diego
Posts: 215
Default

fixed it!
thanks again now i have time to work on my college paper instead of fixing that tommorow.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to 95sl2urbo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help 95sl2urbo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
95sl2urbo is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:41 AM   #8
auxmike
Senior Member
auxmike is on a distinguished road
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Long Island,NY
Posts: 1,619
Default

I had the same exact problem with a SONY MD deck.It was in the '93.The chime fuse was the culprit.....

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to auxmike's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help auxmike reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
auxmike is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 12:43 AM   #9
95sl2urbo
Member
95sl2urbo is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: san diego
Posts: 215
Default

stupid chime fuse!
so why did it blow? my dad said there is a reason why it did that. What do you guys think is the reason and is it fixable?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to 95sl2urbo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help 95sl2urbo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
95sl2urbo is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 01:11 AM   #10
robh456
Member
robh456 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 451
Default

For whatever reason, your stereo is probably drawing too much power on the chime circuit. That feed is just supposed to be for the clock power when the radio is turned off, not for the main power for the radio (which is a 10-amp fuse to itself).

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to robh456's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help robh456 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
robh456 is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 03:18 AM   #11
jcurrieirocz
Member
jcurrieirocz is on a distinguished road
 
jcurrieirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 146
 
Default

yep same here......
when i bought my saturn the chime fuse was gone and the cdplayer (aftermarket) had the 2 lives hooked together to get it to run. after i got rid of the crapy cd player for my new MP3 player i hooked it up proper replacing the chime fuse. Then about a month ago just driveing with the sterio cranked up loud just died. after removeing the deck to cheack for a wire loose i found they were fine and it was a blown chime fuse...i replaced it and it was fine hasnt blown sence and ive been craking it up just as loud!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to jcurrieirocz's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help jcurrieirocz reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
jcurrieirocz is offline  
Old 12-16-2003, 08:43 AM   #12
amazinghl
Master Member
amazinghl will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,989
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 95sl2urbo
stupid chime fuse!
so why did it blow? my dad said there is a reason why it did that. What do you guys think is the reason and is it fixable?

Quote:
Originally posted by 95sl2urbo
Recently i was driving with my sony cd player pretty loud and i switched from the radio to the CD it started playingand then JUST TURNED OFF

Quote:
Originally posted by amazinghl
Don't turn your radio up that high again!

...
85 GLH 367whp. http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2261629#post2261629
00 Insight 72mpg

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to amazinghl's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help amazinghl reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
amazinghl is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 11:15 PM   #13
92SL1Mann
Advanced Member
92SL1Mann is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ghetto St. Thomas, ONT
Posts: 682
 

1992 SL1
1996 SC2
Default

Same thing happend to me 92 sl1 pioneer DEH 7500 mp3 10A deck, i found out by reading specs in the manual come to find out that the radio fuse in my case is a 7A (which was upped from 5A mid model year) and the chime fuse is 5A, I thought screw it and threw in a 7A in the chime and i turn it up all the time and havent had problems since

...
1992 SL1, 376,000Kms
1996 SC2, 243,000Kms

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to 92SL1Mann's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help 92SL1Mann reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
92SL1Mann is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 03:15 PM   #14
winc
Member
winc is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 99
Default

Same thing happened to me. Mine had a 7.5A fuse for chime which provides constant power. Since my alpine unit has a 30A fuse for that, I ran a line directly to the battery through the firewall using 10AWG wire. At the same time, I ran a ground wire of the same gauge just to be safe. Now I have a 15A fuse on battery side of this power line and a capacitor just under the dash that supplies to the headunit. No more chime fuse problems, and I can turn it up even louder when I want to be annoying (my mother-in-law hates it).

...
'95 SL1 auto (retired)
'02 RSX 5spd (her baby)
'05 WRX 5spd (my baby)

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to winc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help winc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
winc is offline  
Old 01-11-2004, 08:35 PM   #15
Magicman
Member
Magicman has a spectacular aura aboutMagicman has a spectacular aura aboutMagicman has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 63
Default

You guys got my hopes up. My radio (Kenwood KRC-660 circa 1992 or so) has been inoperable for over a year now..........and I keep putting off troubleshooting it.

Of course, I checked the car's fuses......but didnt check the chime fuses. Sadly, that was not the trouble.

I'm sick of no tunes in the car.......even though I don't really drive it very much anymore.....

Oh well.

...
Thanks,

Mike

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Magicman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Magicman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Magicman is offline  
Old 01-11-2004, 09:25 PM   #16
TedL
Senior Member
TedL is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glenmont, NY (near Albany)
Posts: 1,640
 
Default

Do any aspects of the radio work, like the lights or clock? If the installer did a quick & dirty connection on the ground wire, it could have come loose. Or, there could be an inline fuse blown, or a Scotchlok connection gone bad.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to TedL's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help TedL reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
TedL is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Door lock problem cwo2004 Aura General 0 12-14-2009 05:01 PM
New Door Lock Problem Cabo251 S-Series Tech 4 02-05-2008 04:18 PM
Power Door Lock Problem Byam L-Series General 1 08-20-2007 11:57 AM
Help with door lock problem please jlshand@yahoo.c S-Series General 2 08-24-2005 07:34 PM
Door lock solenoid problem slickdonkey S-Series General 2 04-12-2005 02:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.