SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General

Old 10-09-2012, 03:02 AM   #1
gdf_sl1
gdf_sl1 is on a distinguished road

Default solved high idle, now high temp/no heat

sorry if this is the wrong area.... been trolling the website for weeks now working on a high idle issue, 2000 sl1 123k miles. 5spd. the high idle is solved but now it says i am over heating even tho i am not, and I have no hot air blowing out my vents. I am a complete rookie/novice at auto repair. Everything that ive done so far, listed below, i learned here in the forums. You all are doing a great job sharing info and knowledge and experiences.... but anyway here you go:

9/15/12 ects replaced (flat brass peice), throttle body cleaned IAC cleaned, Egr cleaned
still high idle, 2k

9/22/12 IAC replaced (dura), EGR replaced (junkyard) idle 2500, engine raced shifting gears +3-500 rpm

9/29/12 sprayed starting fluid around the intake manifold gasket, immediately lowered rpms. so for the next week, I studied my chiltons book, richpins video and a post in the tech forum of the how to replace the intake gasket (Great work on that how-to, BTW)

10/6/12 replaced the intake manifold gasket and thermostat. (coolant was drained so replacing the thermostat seemed like a good idea) Success!! upon completion starts up at 13-1500 rpm, once warm i have a nice quiet 800!! i am truly ecstatic! but during the test drive around the neighborhood, i noticed she was running a bit warm, over half on the gauge. and when i pulled into my driveway, the low coolant light popped on. I was out of dexcool so i used some remaining prestone green stuff i had on the shelf. thought i was good....

10/8/12: first REAL road test drive, heading to work after about 3 miles, temp gauge is nearly in the red, I have zero heat and im freaking out... luckily its only a 5 mile drive. made it ok but im left wondering what did i miss?