SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Old 12-02-2007, 03:24 AM   #1
CDN93SC1
CDN93SC1 is on a distinguished road

Default 1994 SW1 no start

I bought a 94 SW1 that the previous owner says will not start, he had it at a "mechanic" that decided that the "timing belt" went (the sarcasm is gonna get worse).

He got a quote from the mechanic that the repair is $800 worth of labour and $100 worth of parts and then the oil change and other fluid change. I talked to the "mechanic" that looked at it as the car was still at his shop and he was trying to tell me that the Saturn SOHC was a non interference head that ran a timing belt and not a chain and that there was almost no chance of valve damage. I asked him how he figured that the timing "belt" was gone and his response was "I have been fixing cars for 15 years, I know when a timing "belt" has let go"

Now my question is if the timing chain has slipped a cog, how can I check to see if it is out. I have read in the forums and I can take the valve cover off and crank the motor over to see if it gone, but what could give you a no start that may look like the timing chain has let go??

I am probably grasping at straws and it has gone, but I want to make sure I review all other avenues before I tear out the motor based on the words of a mechanic that seemed to know about as much about cars as my wife.
CDN93SC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-02-2007, 04:10 AM   #2
fdryer
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute