SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Green Line
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-19-2014, 08:38 PM   #1
Hornblower
Hornblower is on a distinguished road

Default Running my 2007 Saturn Vue Hybrid in gasoline mode only

I am an owner of a 2007 Saturn Vue Hybrid that has 110,000 miles. It is now out of warranty and my financial responsibility to pay for the hybrid and gasoline repairs. It has always been my priority to fix my own cars if it can be done without any special tools or equipment I will do it. I enjoy learning about cars and how they work. I am a retired electronic engineer.

During the warranty period (8 years, 100K miles) the dealership replaced four hybrid batteries and the Generator Battery Disconnect Control Module (BDCM). The 2.4L engine has performed well except for probably normal repairs . In my case replacement of a Throttle Position Switch, Drive Belt tensioner assembly and 12 volt battery. What appeared unusual to me was the failure of my 12 volt battery while I was driving the car on a long trip. My check engine light and battery charge light came on and after about 40-60 minutes of freeway driving all the 12 volts operations stopped working. I was near a dealership so it worked OK and got a relative to pick my wife and I up. I read a blog that mentioned that if I had stopped the car sooner after I got the check engine and no battery charge indication and restarted it then the system would have reset itself and allowing the battery to recharge. All I know is that the battery was replaced and everything started working again.