SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Old 07-01-2020, 11:33 PM   #1
Blumengarten
Blumengarten is on a distinguished road

2001 SW2
1999 SC2
Default Where did my coolant disappear to?

Hi all! I'm not a mechanic, but I'm trying to learn and do simple things with your help, and RichPin videos.

I flushed the coolant two months ago, following the videos and advice on this forum, and have put about 20 miles on it since then (so little because of Covid, just half-mile round trips to the grocery store).

I drove the longest since I flushed it today, I was about 2 miles from home when I noticed the thermometer light on, and the temperature needle was up in the red. I pulled over, let it cool, and put in 1/2 gallon of pre-mixed coolant which I had left over. When I got to my destination, another 1 mile, I added about 1/2 gallon of water. I put on about 10 miles after that, and the temperature needle went up a little more than half-way, but the red thermometer light didn't come on.

I parked the car in my driveway for several hours, I put newspaper underneath it to see if there were any leaks, but I didn't see any. How did the coolant just disappear?

It's possible that the plastic drain cap underneath the radiator isn't good any more (it looks like it had been broken by the last person who changed the coolant). Could that be the source? But I think I should've seen some drips!
I tried to tighten everything, but it seemed pretty tight (I had also replaced the thermostat). Since I'm the only one who worked on that, obviously I did something wrong! Can you help me figure out why I lost my coolant when I can't find any drips?

Also, since it was an emergency, I used tap water today, though when I flushed it I used distilled ... will this be okay, or should I flush it again so it's only distilled water and coolant?

Thanks,
Lizzy

2001 SW2, 90,000 miles