SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Astra > Astra General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-02-2008, 10:18 PM   #1
Z Fury
Z Fury is on a distinguished road

Default Opinions on the Astra - From Owners

Hey guys. I'm new here, and was hoping to get some honest reviews of the 2008 Saturn Astra. My girlfriend is looking to trade in her '06 Ion 2 Quad Coupe on this new Astra, as it comes with all the options she is lacking. Her Ion is pretty base, having neither cruise control nor power windows. The Astra she is looking to buy has those items, plus the power sunroof, which really made her smile when the dealer showed her how to use it. Ultimately, I think she'll be happy with it, but I thought I'd do some research on this vehicle to make sure it was a good thing.

Now I am no mechanic, but I tend to do a lot of my own work on my vehicles, and have learned that the Astra, being originally the Opel Astra, is made in Belgium, and is a completely foreign car. That said, how much higher would maintenance costs be (as somewhat a foreign vehicle) as opposed to her Ion? Any reliability issues? Just for informational reasons, she is looking at the XE 5 door with the auto (she can't drive stick). The car had 17 miles on it when we test drove it this afternoon, and came with the alloy wheels, moonroof, A/C, and the stability control.

Thank you all for your opinions, and your time.

JC

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Z Fury's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Z Fury reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Z Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 08-02-2008, 10:33 PM   #2
SaturnSdn
Master Member
SaturnSdn will become famous soon enoughSaturnSdn will become famous soon enough

2007 ION-3 Sedan
2007 ION-3 Sedan