SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 04:58 PM   #1
strongmad
New Member
strongmad is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default CAN-bus / GMLAN

Anybody know if all VUEs made after a certain year use either the CAN-bus or GMLAN protocol? If so, what year did they make that switch?

Also, does the instrument cluster for the VUE (assuming CAN-bus or GMLAN is used) connect directly to the bus? or if not, how is it connected to receive its speed, tach, fuel, and temp information?

Thanks for your help.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to strongmad's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help strongmad reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
strongmad is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-2009, 01:05 PM   #2
far2grumpy
Master Member
far2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to beholdfar2grumpy is a splendid one to behold
 
far2grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 8,122
 

2005 VUE 3.5L
2007 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: CAN-bus / GMLAN

This data bus stuff is over my head ... but I've got nothing better to do until temp climbs above zero and I can go outside and throw a frozen Frisbee to my idiot brain dog.

I've attached extract from 05 Vue FASM with data-bus information as well as BCM data related stuff.

I had a copy of IPC schematic but it continues to elude.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Bus Description.pdf (36.9 KB, 81 views)
File Type: pdf BCM Data.pdf (31.8 KB, 73 views)

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to far2grumpy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help far2grumpy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
far2grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 02:53 PM   #3
MaxSL2
Advanced Member
MaxSL2 is on a distinguished road
 
MaxSL2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: FL
Posts: 605
 

2003 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: CAN-bus / GMLAN

It looks like any '02-'07 uses the class 2 data bus to communicate between the BCM and the cluster. '08+ is low-speed GMLAN.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to MaxSL2's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help MaxSL2 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
MaxSL2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GMLAN Version in 2009 Aura XE SpohnSoftware Aura General 1 09-29-2009 07:22 PM
Greyhound Bus turn 3 greyhound bus Vue General 1 08-30-2009 10:58 PM
Taking the bus to work. Low Saturn General Saturn Discussion 5 06-20-2008 12:51 PM
'03 L300 L81 w/or w/o CAN bus? fdryer L-Series Tech 2 02-03-2006 12:57 AM
OBDII and CAN bus jeffb S-Series Tech 9 10-02-2003 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.