SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series General

Old 07-28-2007, 11:40 AM   #1
Mike88
Mike88 is on a distinguished road

2001 L-Series 2.2L Sedan
Default timing chain replacement?

I'm the new owner of a 2001 L200, manual trans with 78,000 miles and I've been reading up on the timing chain failures. I'm a student and plan to take this car on long 6 hour drives several times per month to and from school. I have a couple of questions regarding the timing chain:

-Is it worth replacing as a preventive measure or should I just cross my fingers and hope my chain does not fail?
-Can the job be done in my driveway, with help from my very handy father? If so, any recommendations and how long should I expect the work to take?
-Can someone locate me the part number for the updated timing chain kit with upgraded oiler nozzle (I would hate the buy an old chain kit, install it and not even solve the problem).
-Approximately how much does the updated kit cost from the dealer and is a similar and cheaper aftermarket kit available?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Mike88 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 07-28-2007, 11:49 AM   #2
L100
Advanced Member
L100 is on a distinguished road

2001 L-Series 2.2L Sedan
Default Re: timing chain replacement?

I have 139,000 miles on mine. Crossing my fingers, I haven't had a problem yet. If it does happen, it may be an excuse to get an Aura.
L100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 12:08 PM   #3
Mike88

2001 L-Series 2.2L Sedan

no one has any advice or help for me?
Old 07-29-2007, 12:19 PM   #4
Fastwrx
Fastwrx is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike88 View Post