SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2008, 12:54 PM   #1
saturncrzy
Senior Member
saturncrzy will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,152
 

1992 SL2
1997 SC2
Question Throttle Position Sensor

Was just curious if this can be cleaned or jusy buy a new one?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturncrzy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturncrzy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturncrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-2008, 12:58 PM   #2
Low Saturn
Super Member
Low Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to behold
 
Low Saturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 15,290
 

2000 SC2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturncrzy View Post
Was just curious if this can be cleaned or jusy buy a new one?

They really dont get dirty. Nothing from behind the throttle plate comes in contact with the sensor.

...
Mike

-1991 Turbo SL2 - Gone, but not forgotten.
11.809 @ 116.488 mph
www.differentracing.com

-2000 Saturn SC2
-2001 Chevrolet Suburban
-2011 Rally Yellow Chevrolet Camaro 2SS RS

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Low Saturn's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Low Saturn reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Low Saturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 01:44 PM   #3
madpogue
Super Member
madpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 25,713
 

1996 SW2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor

I wonder if something like electronics cleaner would work on it. It's basically a potentiometer -- a variable resistor that varies with the rotation of the throttle plate shaft. It's about like a mechanical volume control on an "old" radio. Remember how volume adjustments would start to sound scratchy when those things got old/dirty? And _sometimes_ a shot of electronics cleaner, followed by turning the knob back and forth to work it in, would clear it up? I wonder if flaky CPS behavior isn't something akin to this, and if it _might_ be improved by shooting some electronics cleaner ("tuner cleaner")into it and rotating the shaft several times.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to madpogue's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help madpogue reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
madpogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 02:34 PM   #4
waldo_2001
Junior Member
waldo_2001 is on a distinguished road
 
waldo_2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hickory NC
Posts: 24

2001 SC2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor

For what it's worth I replaced mine on my 01 SC2 because I thought the idle was a little high between 900 and 1100 rpm, anyway nothing changed so I have one for cheap if you like. Of course I can't guarantee it is perfect but at leat it's not $50,

James H

Make an offer

...
2001 SC2, 167,000k
EGR Chk
TPS Chk
ECTS Chk
Throttle Body Cleaned
Injectors Cleaned
PCV Chk
All Tams Replaced
Struts Replaced
Scan Gauge (toy)
With all of that 42mpg!!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to waldo_2001's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help waldo_2001 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
waldo_2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 03:53 PM   #5
Low Saturn
Super Member
Low Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to beholdLow Saturn is a splendid one to behold
 
Low Saturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 15,290
 

2000 SC2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by waldo_2001 View Post
For what it's worth I replaced mine on my 01 SC2 because I thought the idle was a little high between 900 and 1100 rpm, anyway nothing changed so I have one for cheap if you like. Of course I can't guarantee it is perfect but at leat it's not $50,

James H

Make an offer

Just an FYI, your TPS will only work on 2000-2002 DOHC's

...
Mike

-1991 Turbo SL2 - Gone, but not forgotten.
11.809 @ 116.488 mph
www.differentracing.com

-2000 Saturn SC2
-2001 Chevrolet Suburban
-2011 Rally Yellow Chevrolet Camaro 2SS RS

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Low Saturn's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Low Saturn reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Low Saturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 04:31 PM   #6
DIYguy
Master Member
DIYguy is a jewel in the roughDIYguy is a jewel in the roughDIYguy is a jewel in the roughDIYguy is a jewel in the rough
 
DIYguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,823
 

1997 SC2
Dizzy Re: Throttle Position Sensor

Whatever you do, don't buy a Wells brand replacement. I put one on over a year ago in an attempt to solve an idle problem of my own (since resolved), and a few months later the replacement became the new problem with all the classic symptoms.

Thankfully I still had the original (Saturn OEM) one laying around and so I put it back on. Problem resolved immediately. It is still on the car.

For curiousity's sake I opened up the Wells unit. The way it was built I don't doubt at all why it failed. I should have returned it rather than opening it up, but they just would have given me another one.

FWIW.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DIYguy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DIYguy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DIYguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:29 PM   #7
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond repute
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 65,130
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by madpogue View Post
I wonder if something like electronics cleaner would work on it. It's basically a potentiometer -- a variable resistor that varies with the rotation of the throttle plate shaft. It's about like a mechanical volume control on an "old" radio. Remember how volume adjustments would start to sound scratchy when those things got old/dirty? And _sometimes_ a shot of electronics cleaner, followed by turning the knob back and forth to work it in, would clear it up? I wonder if flaky CPS behavior isn't something akin to this, and if it _might_ be improved by shooting some electronics cleaner ("tuner cleaner")into it and rotating the shaft several times.
I tried just that on the TPS on a 90 Chevy G-30 van. It was an exercise in futility. But, if you understand how to check them for noise at the throttle closed position you will find the bad ones real quick.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Position Sensor mommybayer Relay Tech 0 12-11-2009 06:05 PM
throttle position sensor briansc1 S-Series Tech 7 08-04-2008 06:42 AM
Throttle Position Sensor? thewave46 S-Series General 3 12-11-2007 02:15 PM
testing the throttle position sensor sPuddingTime S-Series General 6 06-07-2006 10:57 AM
Throttle Position Sensor sven1 L-Series General 0 05-31-2006 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.