SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2007, 10:56 AM   #1
thewave46
Junior Member
thewave46 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default Throttle Position Sensor?

Hello,

I just wanted a little input on this condition before I go throwing parts at it.

Symptoms: Car is fully warmed up. New brass ECTS. Occasionally, without any throttle pressure and clutch out, switches to higher idle and revs slowly climb. Shutting down vehicle and restarting results in normal idling returning. This seems to point to a sensor and not a vacuum leak.

Does this sound right?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to thewave46's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help thewave46 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
thewave46 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-11-2007, 10:58 AM   #2
thewave46
Junior Member
thewave46 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor?

Oh, the car is a 1998 SC1 with 132,000kms on it (82,000mi).

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to thewave46's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help thewave46 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
thewave46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 10:59 AM   #3
madpogue
Super Member
madpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 25,713
 

1996 SW2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor?

Yes, high idle "reset" on re-start typically means a bad TPS. Another test - when it's racing, tap the TPS with a screwdriver handle. If this changes the idle, TPS is a prime suspect.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to madpogue's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help madpogue reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
madpogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 01:15 PM   #4
BoDuke70
Member
BoDuke70 is on a distinguished road
 
BoDuke70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 273

2004 ION-3 Quad Coupe
1997 SC2
Default Re: Throttle Position Sensor?

Just another guess, is there a loose vacuum connection - or a break in a hose that's gaping then closing up upon engine shutoff / vibration stop?

...
A different kind of parts guy...now in a bow tie!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BoDuke70's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BoDuke70 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BoDuke70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Position Sensor mommybayer Relay Tech 0 12-11-2009 05:05 PM
throttle position sensor briansc1 S-Series Tech 7 08-04-2008 05:42 AM
Throttle Position Sensor saturncrzy S-Series Tech 6 05-15-2008 05:29 PM
testing the throttle position sensor sPuddingTime S-Series General 6 06-07-2006 09:57 AM
Throttle Position Sensor sven1 L-Series General 0 05-31-2006 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.