SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2006, 06:18 PM   #1
donlashway
New Member
donlashway is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default crank position sensor 2000SL1

First time working on my 2000SL1.
DTC code p0341 crank position sensor out of range.
Checked get 900 ohms, book says ok. Will not run without it
Symtoms- 3k RPM at start-misfires-jerks and chugs on low acceleration-will not idle properly high or stall-can rev high but not smooth.

Read somewhere sensor only $18 if thats right i'll just try it. Autozone girl told me not available from anyone but dealer?
Please, any information will help me so much...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to donlashway's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help donlashway reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
donlashway is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 09-25-2006, 07:07 PM   #2
kthane
Member
kthane is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: pns,fl
Posts: 234

1999 SL1
Default Re: crank position sensor 2000SL1

Good news:
Advance Auto parts has one for $13.97.

Bad news:
p0341 is not a crankshaft position error, it's a camshaft position sensor error.

Really bad news:
Your car doesn't have one. It'll throw this code if you have a bad wire(s), plug(s), Coil pack(s), or DIS module. I'm pretty sure there is writeup on this in the howto section. Don't use Bosch platinum plugs.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to kthane's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help kthane reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
kthane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:17 PM   #3
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about
 
Uzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Posts: 9,329
 

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: crank position sensor 2000SL1

Quote:
Originally Posted by kthane
Really bad news:
Your car doesn't have one. It'll throw this code if you have a bad wire(s), plug(s), Coil pack(s), or DIS module. I'm pretty sure there is writeup on this in the howto section. Don't use Bosch platinum plugs.
Well it could be something simple, so it might not be really bad news.
But as he said, make sure the plugs are copper, prefereably NGK, and the wires are in good shape, and the coil packs are corrosion free.

...
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
...
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
...
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Uzzy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Uzzy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:57 PM   #4
donlashway
New Member
donlashway is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: crank position sensor 2000SL1

thank you both.
i should have waited advance auto has one less now.
will tackle wires tomarrow.
been plenty wet around here lately would make sence

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to donlashway's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help donlashway reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
donlashway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 01:40 AM   #5
Bigdaddy94sc2
Senior Member
Bigdaddy94sc2 is on a distinguished road
 
Bigdaddy94sc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Anderson, SC (Clemson)
Posts: 1,543
 

2006 ION-2 Sedan
2005 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: crank position sensor 2000SL1

Before you waste money on parts you dont need, take a $2 can of carb cleaner, and spray where the intake manifold meets the head, near cyl 1 (closest to belt). All of your symptoms point towards an intake manifold gasket leak....

...
GM, Saturn, and ASE certified Technician. Always glad to try to help, just ask!!! Now own an 06 ION.2 as of 7/2/06 with 2988 and counting (7/28/06) 13131 as of (1/8/07) 24901 as of (7/30/07)

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Bigdaddy94sc2's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Bigdaddy94sc2 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Bigdaddy94sc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 05:53 AM   #6
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about
 
Uzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Posts: 9,329
 

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: crank position sensor 2000SL1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigdaddy94sc2
Before you waste money on parts you dont need, take a $2 can of carb cleaner, and spray where the intake manifold meets the head, near cyl 1 (closest to belt). All of your symptoms point towards an intake manifold gasket leak....
Brake clean works better. Carb cleaner won't always detect it, the particles are bigger. Some guys use propane.

...
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
...
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
...
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Uzzy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Uzzy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 06:11 PM   #7
dlczrx
Member
dlczrx is on a distinguished road
 
dlczrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 76
Default Re: crank position sensor 2000SL1

This sounds like the classic coil pack corrosion cause. The terminals on the coil packs have oxidized. Disconnect battery, remove the plug wires from the coil terminals, clean the oxidation off the coil terminals, and reassemble. I think I used some steel wool on my own. It takes a good hour, maybe more depending.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dlczrx's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dlczrx reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
dlczrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fourth Crank Position Sensor? Rivernut Vue Tech 31 09-12-2010 01:57 AM
Crank Position Sensor pyranite Vue Tech 11 05-03-2007 06:31 PM
crank position sensor Carlyle S-Series Tech 10 04-15-2007 12:52 PM
Where Is The Crank Position Sensor Located Mike1969 S-Series Tech 2 07-13-2006 12:12 PM
Crank Position Sensor 1991SL S-Series Tech 4 03-27-2002 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.