SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Astra > Astra General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2019, 04:35 PM   #1
machinn
Junior Member
machinn has a spectacular aura aboutmachinn has a spectacular aura aboutmachinn has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 11
Attention Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

Hello Astra owners!
I installed new front tires on my 2008 Saturn Astra XE and moved the front tires to the back. Now, I am trying to reset the TPMS light (flashes for 1 minute and then go solid), but canít manage to get it in relearn mode with the remote ON and OFF pressed at the same time with the key turned to ON (not running) and the parking brake on - no matter how long. I tried many times without success. Any Astra owner had this issue and what was the fix? Thanks!
machinn is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-2019, 08:28 AM   #2
maschinenbauer
Member
maschinenbauer will become famous soon enoughmaschinenbauer will become famous soon enough
 
maschinenbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: ATL
Posts: 146

2008 Astra XE
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

Did you replace the sensors or transfer the old ones from the old tires? If they are still original sensors, they are probably out of battery. Mine will periodically do that, maybe a couple times a week, because the batteries are dying. All of our Astras are 10 years old, so the batteries and/or sensors probably need replacing.
...
'08 Astra XE 5-speed
'72 Chevrolet El Camino
'31 Ford Model A pickup
maschinenbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 06:22 PM   #3
machinn
Junior Member
machinn has a spectacular aura aboutmachinn has a spectacular aura aboutmachinn has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 11
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

Thank you for your post! I thought of that, but because the tpms light was not on before I replaced the tires I thought the sensors needed to be reset. Maybe I will try to replace all 4 of them if not crazy expensive. Nonetheless, I guess the initial concern still remains: why canít the tpms relearn mode be activated? Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
machinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 07:50 PM   #4
imaddicted2u
Advanced Member
imaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to behold
 
imaddicted2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 545

2008 AURA XE
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

I think your answer is here...
http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/sho...highlight=tpms
...
2008 Saturn Aura XE 3.5L 4 spd
2000 Saturn SL1 1.9L SOHC (Retired)
imaddicted2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:56 PM   #5
velocast
Member
velocast has a spectacular aura aboutvelocast has a spectacular aura aboutvelocast has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 98
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn



Our Astras are 10 years plus old. I am getting old too!
So, you may need a set of new ones:

I suggest you:

DORMAN 974030

No programming tool needed
Self learning
Will fit in most aftermerket wheels
Nice two-piece design
The valve stems are independent from the sensors
Trouble free

velocast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 10:22 PM   #6
machinn
Junior Member
machinn has a spectacular aura aboutmachinn has a spectacular aura aboutmachinn has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 11
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

Thank you all for your help! I will go ahead and search online for the doorman sensor set.
machinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 01:14 AM   #7
nicolas_p
Senior Member
nicolas_p has a spectacular aura aboutnicolas_p has a spectacular aura about
 
nicolas_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 1,253
 

2009 Astra XR
2008 Astra XE
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

Also something that no one mentioned is that the Canadian/US model of the astra don't have the capability to learn the TPMS. The system can't display each tire individually, to "re-learn" the sensors you just need to drive for a little bit and the car will automatically learn them. I believe it is something like 5 minutes above 50km/h or 20mph
...
09 Vauxhall Astra XR3/STD
18" Team Dynamic MonzaR rims
Eibach Sportline, Whiteline BHR75Z swaybar and EBC Rotors
CD30 Mp3, Insignia jets, vxR surround, sharkfin antenna, Spoiler, Tint
nicolas_p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 01:27 AM   #8
imaddicted2u
Advanced Member
imaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to beholdimaddicted2u is a splendid one to behold
 
imaddicted2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 545

2008 AURA XE
Default Re: Not Able to Initiate TPMS Relearn

Quote:
Originally Posted by machinn View Post
Thank you all for your help! I will go ahead and search online for the doorman sensor set.
Not a bad price...check the reviews.
https://www.amazon.com/Dorman-974-03.../dp/B0049EDXUC
...
2008 Saturn Aura XE 3.5L 4 spd
2000 Saturn SL1 1.9L SOHC (Retired)
imaddicted2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
tire relearn, tire sensor, tpms


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Key FOB doesn't work on TPMS relearn. mark4Jesus Aura General 22 07-16-2019 10:27 PM
new ecm relearn Welderdude L-Series Tech 4 03-22-2014 12:45 PM
3.0 tps relearn vanish72 Vue General 2 01-21-2014 11:43 PM
ECM relearn help please fast5thgen Vue Tech 5 11-20-2010 10:08 AM
Passlock relearn... (optional relearn) austin71184 S-Series Tech 2 05-31-2006 05:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.