SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2007, 06:18 PM   #1
97SatGuy
New Member
97SatGuy is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default Best place for ground wire

Hey guys, I have a 97 Saturn S2. I am hooking up my 2 12' Subs and need to know where the best place for the ground wire to go is. I have everything else ready to go, but i cant do anything untill the ground is ready. any help would be greatly appriciated.
97SatGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-05-2007, 06:28 PM   #2
Rusty
Member
Rusty is on a distinguished road
 
Rusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 204
 
Default Re: Best place for ground wire

i drilled and tapped a hole in the side of the spare tire well... you can put a small hole in the carpet and run the wire through it and into the tire well... just make sure you tap the hole so you can put a small screw in it. there will only be one or two threads, so dont over tighten...
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 07:01 PM   #3
BobbyP
Master Member
BobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really nice
 
BobbyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 7,030
 

2006 VUE Red Line
2007 SKY
Default Re: Best place for ground wire

On my SC I ran my ground back to the negative on the battery. Ran both the positive and negative with a stranded 30g cable. I fused it in the UJB Underhood Junction Box.
...
2006 Black VUE Red Line - Now running iOS 14.7 beta
BobbyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:24 AM   #4
quiksc2
Master Member
quiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
quiksc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orting, WA
Posts: 4,636
 

2002 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Best place for ground wire

I grounded mine to the trunk pan. Works great. Others have done it this way, too. How many watts does your amp claim to put out?
...
If I wanted ride quality, I would drive a Cadillac. If I wanted to be a sheep, I would drive something that says Vtec on the side of it...
DCS
quiksc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:27 AM   #5
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about
 
Uzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Posts: 9,326
 

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Best place for ground wire

I grounded mine to the trunk pan too. There's some bolts under the carpet near the bumper that should work. You night have to do some scraping/grinding to get it right though. But not much.
...
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
...
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
...
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:37 AM   #6
quiksc2
Master Member
quiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
quiksc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orting, WA
Posts: 4,636
 

2002 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Best place for ground wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uzzy View Post
I grounded mine to the trunk pan too. There's some bolts under the carpet near the bumper that should work. You night have to do some scraping/grinding to get it right though. But not much.
I just drilled a hole, wire brushed around it, used those star washers, and torqued down a nut and bolt.
...
If I wanted ride quality, I would drive a Cadillac. If I wanted to be a sheep, I would drive something that says Vtec on the side of it...
DCS
quiksc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:39 AM   #7
RZRIvan
Member
RZRIvan is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Mills, Maryland
Posts: 71

2000 SL
Default Re: Best place for ground wire

There is a bolt holding the bracket for the trunk right behind the speaker rack. This bolt already has pressure on it from the weight of the trunk and the "tensioner" bar so it gave me a pretty good ground.
RZRIvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground wire question bigbfarm S-Series Tech 7 03-30-2009 01:16 PM
ground wire upgrades petdmc S-Series General 13 04-18-2007 04:13 PM
Where to Ground Wire ? tenn734 S-Series Mods 5 12-23-2005 12:22 PM
Ground Wire Questions lpradiohead S-Series Tech 7 01-16-2005 12:34 PM
No place to ground amp in trunk robblaw S-Series Tech 5 06-06-2003 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.