SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-16-2006, 02:58 PM   #1
summer4077
summer4077 is on a distinguished road

Default 99 SC2 Stalling while driving, starts after cool down

This is my first time posting as this is the first problem I've ever had w/ my 99 SC2 (106,000 miles). When driving my car it will start to skip about once every minute or so (usually after driving it for about 10 minutes), and then it will stall out completely and coast to a stop. After letting it cool down for around 30 minutes it starts back up and will drive but do the same thing. When it's completely cold (overnight) then it will go for about 15 minutes, but after waiting for it to cool down 30 min or so it will only drive about 5. I've looked on other forums and they say fuel filter, crankshaft position sensor (this code is coming up when my dad uses the diagnostic thing), or fuel pump. I've priced out fuel filters and they're $70 (!!!) any idea why?? On the L series and most other cars they're $15. Also, every car parts store in my city said it will take 3-5 days to get. As common as Saturns are, you'd think this would be a easy part to get.
Any suggestions on how to test any of these? I don't want to blindly replace a filter, then have to replace the pump, etc b/c both are pricey. My dad also thinks it could be a computer chip going bad. My dad can fix pretty much anything but first we have to figure out what it is, and I'm trying to avoid wasting money replacing things by trial and error (broke college student). I love my car and this is the first time I've had any problems w/ her (she is purple, so I've determined that makes it a her, haha), please help!! Thank you!!!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to summer4077's Reputation