SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Site Information > Community Center
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-23-2013, 12:50 AM   #1
V8GoneDOHC
V8GoneDOHC is on a distinguished road

2000 L-Series 2.2L Sedan
1993 SL2
Default Well, that's that!

Hey all,

Well I haven't been active in years; but you know how nostalgia is. When I first popped up on this forum I was a Junior in high school, getting a 1993 Saturn SL2 to replace my '85 Cougar. About a year later I got rid of it and got a 2000 Saturn LS1. Drove that thing ever since.

Until just now. As of a couple days ago, the LS1 is sold . To replace it, a 2014 Ford Focus SE Sport. For those who are keeping up with the story, I graduated high school in 2009. So I did at least get a few years out of my LS1.

For the record, when I first hopped on this forum, y'all told me about a ton of common problems. Not the least of which was the timing chains. I bought the car with about 70k on it, original motor, nothing done to the timing chains. Bought it from the original owner. Changed the oil every 3k, followed up with my maintenance.

And I'm here to tell you, that it is sold, and it has 297,000 miles on the odometer. I'm also here to tell you, that save for a bad AC compressor that I replaced, not one thing ever went wrong with that car. Not one. No timing chain issue, no steering issue, no nothing. I never did the oiler upgrade, or any of the stuff. In fact, for a while I kind of had this attitude (bred from forums and all of my L-series owning buddies) that without upgrading the oilers my engine was gonna blow any day now. So whatever, I was ready for a new car. When this one grenades, I'll get a new one. Kept driving it, kept maintaining it. When it hit 297,000 miles, I said forget it; I'm just gonna have to get a new car anyone because this one is not going to die.