SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-22-2018, 02:39 PM   #1
amayer3
amayer3 is on a distinguished road

2002 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default 2002 L300 Limp Mode

Hey,
This is my first time here, I've found many answers on this site but this problem continues to puzzle me. Let me start by giving a little history for the car. It was originally my dad's, where he maintained it and it ran fine, then he gave it to my brother, who still took care of it but it's where issues (like limp mode) started happening. He has replaced the MAF Sensor, the BCM, the thermostat, had the transmission fluid changed. Eventually the car wouldn't start after running for a while, that's when he stopped driving it. Then last summer he told me if I could fix it I could have it. I talked to my friend's dad who is a mechanic and we replaced the crankshaft sensor, and that fixed the starting issues.

The limp mode (the service light comes on while driving and it starts to shift hard) continued, but I lived with it (while looking for an answer) much like my brother did. However, recently it has gotten a lot worse. Now if it has been running for 10 minutes or so, then I turn the engine off and try to start it again it starts, the light comes immediately on and it won't let me shift for a good 15 seconds, then when I am able to shift the engine won't go over 900 rpm (and it limps in short bursts). I have replaced the TCM to fix this, but I don't know where to go from here.

Codes:
P1780
Manufacturer Controlled Transmission
U1206
Manufacturer Specific DCT

Thanks for everyone's help!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to amayer3's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help amayer3 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!