SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Mods
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2005, 01:45 PM   #1
Bill Murray
Master Member
Bill Murray will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Speedway, Indiana
Posts: 2,015
 

1997 SC1
1997 SC1
Default Ecotec swap into an S?

I've seen in-the-crate new & very low mileage Ecotecs for 600 bucks.
Has anyone seen/done an Ecotec/4T40 into an S Sat?
The 1.9/TAAT measures about 33 inches wide and the 2.2/4T40 in an Ion is about 30 inches so the basic dimensions offer some hope.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Bill Murray's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Bill Murray reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Bill Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 11-06-2005, 01:56 PM   #2
THX712517
Master Member
THX712517 is on a distinguished road
 
THX712517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Marietta
Posts: 2,586
 
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

I believe that this question has been coming up since 2003, and I was one of the first to ask it. The general consensus is that no, the Ecotec will not fit, because of height issues. It would take a hefty amount of expensive fabrication in order to make it work. See if anyone else has any input, but I think it's not happening.

...
2003 Saturn Ion
2001 Mazda Miata
1997 Saturn SC1

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to THX712517's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help THX712517 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
THX712517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 05:23 PM   #3
twosaturns
Master Member
twosaturns will become famous soon enough
 
twosaturns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,037
 
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Murray
I've seen in-the-crate new & very low mileage Ecotecs for 600 bucks.
Has anyone seen/done an Ecotec/4T40 into an S Sat?
The 1.9/TAAT measures about 33 inches wide and the 2.2/4T40 in an Ion is about 30 inches so the basic dimensions offer some hope.
this is my all time favorite saturn question. it just doesn't turn me on anymore. now, I want either a turbo'd ecotec in a '71 vega gt or a chevette (both RWD and light!)

...
for the first time in 8 years, I don't own a saturn.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to twosaturns's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help twosaturns reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
twosaturns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 06:31 PM   #4
Bill Murray
Master Member
Bill Murray will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Speedway, Indiana
Posts: 2,015
 

1997 SC1
1997 SC1
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

I agree rwd is more fun to drive, and there will be plenty of wrecked Solstices to salvage to get the inline version, LOL. If you can find a 71-73 Opel Manta you have an even better platform, I used to race one of those in SCCA

As far as the S swap, I've got a 97 Sat and a borrowed 06 Ion sitting side by side, I measure 31 inches from the top of the cam cover to the ground on each one.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Bill Murray's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Bill Murray reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Bill Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 07:17 PM   #5
Vertigoomg
Member
Vertigoomg is on a distinguished road
 
Vertigoomg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 217
 

1997 SC2
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

Man, those engines will drop right into the engine bay of an S-series... doubt you wanna waste your money doing that, though I can understand why most people want the 2.2l in the S-series, as the 2.2l has aftermarket stuff cropping up with it being in the Cobalt and all. I think that's about it's only salvation, as the moment the Cobalt gets a different engine, all interest in the 2.2l would be dropped...

I, however, think those with hopped-up 1.9's get a little bit more respect than even redline owners...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Vertigoomg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Vertigoomg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Vertigoomg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:51 PM   #6
twosaturns
Master Member
twosaturns will become famous soon enough
 
twosaturns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,037
 
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

the possibilities with an ecotec is ALL OVER what you can do with the LLO. there are no limits w/ the eco, and the 1st person that starts making S car/eco hybrid tuners is going to have it ALL going on.

...
for the first time in 8 years, I don't own a saturn.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to twosaturns's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help twosaturns reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
twosaturns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:05 AM   #7
Vertigoomg
Member
Vertigoomg is on a distinguished road
 
Vertigoomg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 217
 

1997 SC2
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

Hell yeah. If that happened, I'd be on it like white on Ross

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Vertigoomg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Vertigoomg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Vertigoomg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 10:20 AM   #8
cloud819
Master Member
cloud819 will become famous soon enough
 
cloud819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,313
 

2001 SC2
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

RWD Solstice, I didn't even think of that.

I'm plaining on buying a '92 Lotus Turbo SE In the next year or 2. But I have been trying to think of engines that could be possible swaps if the very expensive britsh lump goes south on me. The 2.0 supercharged Solstice/Sky engine in a turbo form could be the answer. With some coaxing that motor could be a 300HP replacement at a fairly light weight (the stock mill is 275. I would hate to upset the balance and the 0-60 in 4.7 sprint.

Now I just need to find a replacement transmission; That is a much harder job and the thing more likely to fail.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to cloud819's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help cloud819 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
cloud819 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:31 PM   #9
Bill Murray
Master Member
Bill Murray will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Speedway, Indiana
Posts: 2,015
 

1997 SC1
1997 SC1
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

good thoughts
Lotus was a major consultant on the design of the Ecotec coordinating work with Saab and GM Powertrain engrs.
what transaxle does the Lotus SE use?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Bill Murray's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Bill Murray reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Bill Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 09:51 PM   #10
eRic 02sc2
Super Member
eRic 02sc2 has a spectacular aura abouteRic 02sc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
eRic 02sc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Closed Course. Professional Driver.
Posts: 14,542
 
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Murray
The 1.9/TAAT measures about 33 inches wide
what's "TAAT"? do you mean 1.9L twin cam and MP3 (manual)?

...
eRic 02sc2
DR SCCA Solo 2001,2002 1st DSP
WHRRi 2007,2010 Fun Run 1st
DR SCCA 2008 Triathalon 1st PF
DR SCCA Solo 2009 2nd ST
DR SCCA Solo 2010 1st ST
Crutchfield: pkeqe-6j8e3-d2qqe

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to eRic 02sc2's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help eRic 02sc2 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
eRic 02sc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 02:09 PM   #11
ProDarwin
Master Member
ProDarwin is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 3,597
 
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

I think he is referring to an automatic. Why would you put an automatic Ecotec in an S-Car?

If you really think the ecotec is so far beyond the 1.9, check out turbosaturns. Most guys with built motors have no problem getting well above 300hp, which is enough to cause serious traction issues in an S-Car.

...
-Travis

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to ProDarwin's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help ProDarwin reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
ProDarwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 07:19 PM   #12
neXgen
Member
neXgen is on a distinguished road
 
neXgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton, Oh
Posts: 64
 

2003 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Ecotec swap into an S?

this question as been in the minds of STC for years now... it's nothing new

IT IS VERY POSSIBLE to put the 2.2L in an SC2, i WAS gonna drop it in my 97..

then i found out how much fabrication was needed.. i.e. motor mounts, ecu, hood, wireing, radiator.. and the list goes on...

if u TRULY wanna do it, i hope u have a couple grand just lay'n around

and if u do it, more power to ya, pun intended!!!!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to neXgen's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help neXgen reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
neXgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LE5 Ecotec Swap saturn00b Vue Mods 5 03-13-2008 10:38 PM
Ecotec swap so0dz S-Series Tech 37 11-12-2007 11:01 AM
2.2 ecotec swap quiksc2 S-Series Mods 24 04-04-2007 11:38 PM
Ecotec swap Aereus S-Series General 3 01-31-2005 05:34 PM
1.9 to ECOTEC swap? DiabloVerde Mods and Performance 2 10-01-2002 01:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.