SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Reference Forums > Mods and Performance

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2001, 05:10 PM   #1
Aubrey
New Member
Aubrey is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1
Default Open intake

I have no money to work on my car and I heard a good way to increase power for free is to take out the factory air filter box and leave the intake open. Of course I would put some sort of filter over the openings but my question is if this is bad for your car in any way.
Aubrey is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 06-29-2001, 08:15 PM   #2
94sc2boy
Member
94sc2boy is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Morro Bay, CA
Posts: 482
 

1994 SC2
Default

thats fine, you can take off the box and add a cone filter, it will sound better and give you better high rpm power. You have to mount the sensor close to the intake, i just used 3 inch diameter pvc pipe, drilled a hole glued a nut on there, where sensor bolts up, and put the 70 buck K&N filter on there, prohbably should have looked for the cheapest filter and built the other way, but all said and done i was out 80 bucks,
94sc2boy is offline  
Old 06-29-2001, 09:59 PM   #3
twstdstrn
Member
twstdstrn is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 102
Default

they have some pretty decent filters on ebay for 20 bucks. clean it a couple times throw it out and buy another 20 bucker, thats what im doin but im still on my first 20 bucker.

James
twstdstrn is offline  
Old 06-30-2001, 12:02 AM   #4
TurboSC2
Member
TurboSC2 is on a distinguished road
 
TurboSC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 153

2003 VUE 2.2L
Default

I would seriously recommend at the very least running a K&N drop in filter. For a budget mod, You can modify the intake pipe to accomodate a conical filter, but be sure to route the inlet air temp sensor in the airstream of the intake. You cn do this by lengthening the wires, drilling a small hole and mounting the sensor in the intake pipe.

As s small side note, By removing the stock filter from the airbox, you are actually decreasing the performance. Back when our SC2 was stock, we took the car to the track to get some baseline 1/4 mile runs in. After running consistent 16.1's @ 85mph during 5 passes, I removed the stock filter, just to see what benefits, if any we would achieve.

We actually slowed down. I did 3 passes with no filter in the airbox. My runs were all 16.4's @ 82mph or so. I put the filter back in, and our times dropped back to 16.1's at 85mph.

Just my $0.03
Paul
TurboSC2
TurboSC2 is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Short Ram Intake or Cold Air Intake? RDKamikaze S-Series Mods 50 12-24-2010 12:29 PM
Short Ram Intake vs Cold Air Intake Saturn Tuner S-Series Mods 29 01-30-2010 09:54 AM
Cold air intake or Short Ram intake 04RedlineMike Ion Red Line 17 08-07-2007 05:35 PM
WTB: 2000-2002 OE air intake and intake manifold Tycho Classifieds 0 03-03-2005 12:52 PM
ION airbox intake --different from VUE ecotec intake> why? spinning_disc Ion General 3 11-27-2002 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.