SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Reference Forums > Miscellaneous Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2002, 10:51 AM   #1
skijay
Senior Member
skijay will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Avon, CT
Posts: 1,115
 
Default Gas Caps

Since my 2001 L100 did not have a remote fuel door, I purchased a locking gas cap last year. It has been getting hard to lock and unlock and eventually the lock cylinder popped out with the key attatched. Fortunately it was unlocked. I put the OEM cap back on with a new tankfull of gas. My gas mileage went up 2mpg.

Would a defective gas cap effect the gas mileage. Possibly the old one was allowing the tank to vent, sort of like driving with out the cap on it.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to skijay's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help skijay reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
skijay is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 09-09-2002, 10:55 AM   #2
ricksLS1
Master Member
ricksLS1 has a spectacular aura aboutricksLS1 has a spectacular aura about
 
ricksLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 5,576
 
Default Re: Gas Caps

Quote:
Originally posted by skijay
Since my 2001 L100 did not have a remote fuel door, I purchased a locking gas cap last year. It has been getting hard to lock and unlock and eventually the lock cylinder popped out with the key attatched. Fortunately it was unlocked. I put the OEM cap back on with a new tankfull of gas. My gas mileage went up 2mpg.

Would a defective gas cap effect the gas mileage. Possibly the old one was allowing the tank to vent, sort of like driving with out the cap on it.
Wouldn't one of the engine lights if the cap wasn't on or working properly? Could have been you were driving less stop and go? Maybe different gas. I know where I live in October they have to change the fuel per EPA and the mileage goes down a little.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to ricksLS1's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help ricksLS1 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
ricksLS1 is offline  
Old 09-09-2002, 11:19 AM   #3
Qlara
Master Member
Qlara is on a distinguished road
 
Qlara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,905
 
Happy

It's true, the SES light will be set on if the gas cap is not functional (like leaking....). Though I don't think your 'pop-out' of locking cylinder will lead to gas venting. Have you tried to replace that defective aftermarket cap yet? They're not cheap.....$12+ something? :o:

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Qlara's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Qlara reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Qlara is offline  
Old 09-09-2002, 11:33 AM   #4
skijay
Senior Member
skijay will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Avon, CT
Posts: 1,115
 
Default

No SES lights, same gas & same driving, the cap that broke was aftermarket and now I am back to OEM.

I did drive the car (50 miles) without it due to a fear of having it stuck on. No SES lights came on.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to skijay's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help skijay reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
skijay is offline  
Old 09-09-2002, 01:53 PM   #5
CelticShadow
Member
CelticShadow is on a distinguished road
 
CelticShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Whitehall, PA
Posts: 227
Default

if it was broken or faulty, yes, the light would have gone on, but if there was a very slow leak, it might not have been enough for the light to be activated.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to CelticShadow's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help CelticShadow reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
CelticShadow is offline  
Old 09-10-2002, 12:30 PM   #6
Qlara
Master Member
Qlara is on a distinguished road
 
Qlara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,905
 
Roll Eyes

I think the light is easier to set on when the tank is only half-full or near empty? So the gasoline has more rooms to create erratic pressure to trigger the system, just my guess.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Qlara's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Qlara reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Qlara is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locking Gas Caps Bismarck318 Vue General 2 09-18-2009 12:20 PM
lug caps JC2002SILVERSC2 Classifieds 14 08-11-2006 03:55 PM
Hub caps SoUp S-Series General 3 09-19-2003 12:17 PM
Vaccuum Caps Gixxer Miscellaneous Tech 0 04-16-2002 02:22 AM
Locking Gas Caps rzklkng General Saturn Discussion 7 12-23-2001 10:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.