SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Old 02-01-2008, 09:31 PM   #1
for my wife
for my wife is on a distinguished road

Default 1998 Saturn SL2 Manual Transmission Cable broke

As the name implies, this is for my wife and her beautiful Saturn SL2 manual transmission.

I believe the cable has broke, and need to get a new one, the other part of this is that I have been doing research on the internet about it, and have heard about a black clip that breaks...

I drove the car home in what i thought was 4th gear...the shift lever is basically free, so it doesn't change gears...

I am new to ordering Saturn parts and feel the 180 dollars the "genuine" saturn dealership wishes to charge me is rediculous. Like every other middle class american, i want to save money, and do the work myself.

Does anyone have any ideas?

thanks!

For my wife

Edit, after posting i realised there are a ton of postings about this issue....sorry for teh double post...new to the forums....

Last edited by for my wife; 02-01-2008 at 09:33 PM. Reason: found mutiple posts about the issue.
for my wife is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-2008, 10:56 PM   #2
rearviewmirror
rearviewmirror is on a distinguished road

Default Re: 1998 Saturn SL2 Manual Transmission Cable broke

Look up the parts on here... http://saturnparts.net/
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:49 AM   #3
virnin
Advanced Member
virnin is on a distinguished road

1995 SL2
1995 SL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by for my wife View Post
As the name implies, this is for my wife and her beautiful Saturn SL2 manual transmission.

I believe the cable has broke, and need to get a new one, the other part of this is that I have been doing research on the internet about it, and have heard about a black clip that breaks...