SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series Tech

Old 05-28-2008, 02:40 PM   #1
blentz
blentz is a jewel in the roughblentz is a jewel in the roughblentz is a jewel in the rough

Default Transmission fluid & filter change

Greetings!
I have a 2000 LS (base) with an automatic transmission and 134k miles on it. I purchased it a year ago with 119k miles so I don't know the detailed service history... but, I suspect it's time (or well overdue) to change the transmission fluid and filter.

Since I've never done this before (I've otherwise changed the fluid in 5 speeds), I have read several posts here about the procedure and had a couple questions.

I understand that it's best to get an OEM filter from Saturn, as opposed to an aftermarket one. I was also planning on getting the pan gasket, too, so that I don't end up with a monster leak on my hands. But is that necessary? There has been much discussion over the "flush" versus "change" since the change requires breaking the seal. I'm not sure what the clear answer is.

I understand the pan bolts should be 108 in-lbs... I think my 3/8" torque ratchet only goes down to 120 in-lbs... how tolerant are the bolts, assuming I don't want a leak?

Also, from hilco5's post at http://saturnfans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=80824, I'm not totally sure what the issue is with removing the "filter gasket"... it sounds as though it's a less than straightforward... I would've expected a rubber seal, not something that has to be hammered in and out?

I'm trying to prepare as much as possible so that we don't lose the car to a mistake I make while trying to perform routing maintenance.

Thanks in advance to any and all input anyone has to offer.
blentz is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-28-2008, 02:45 PM   #2
blentz
blentz is a jewel in the roughblentz is a jewel in the roughblentz is a jewel in the rough