SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2007, 04:21 PM   #1
Jims97
Junior Member
Jims97 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default AC relay help please

I have a 97 SL2. I want to use the pushbutton AC switch beside the recurculate sw to run an aux. heater. Well, actually I want to use the wire for the compressor to run the aux. so it runs through the relay.
System is all cleaned out, lines, compressor, cond. drier are all removed and pressure switch wires are spliced. The problem is when the AC button is pushed in, the relay does not come hot thereby not powering the compressor wire. Battery power to relay is good, ing. switched power comes on properly, but the relay won't switch to the compressor feed wire. If I pull the relay up to where it still makes contact but can still get my test light probe under it, touching the 86 spade will cause the contactor to close and power the 87 compressor wire as normal. My question is, what am I missing that excites the relay to work.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jims97's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jims97 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jims97 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-14-2007, 06:32 PM   #2
richpin06
Senior Member
richpin06 is a jewel in the roughrichpin06 is a jewel in the roughrichpin06 is a jewel in the roughrichpin06 is a jewel in the rough
 
richpin06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,849
 

1998 SL2
Default Re: AC relay help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jims97 View Post
I have a 97 SL2. I want to use the pushbutton AC switch beside the recurculate sw to run an aux. heater. Well, actually I want to use the wire for the compressor to run the aux. so it runs through the relay.
System is all cleaned out, lines, compressor, cond. drier are all removed and pressure switch wires are spliced. The problem is when the AC button is pushed in, the relay does not come hot thereby not powering the compressor wire. Battery power to relay is good, ing. switched power comes on properly, but the relay won't switch to the compressor feed wire. If I pull the relay up to where it still makes contact but can still get my test light probe under it, touching the 86 spade will cause the contactor to close and power the 87 compressor wire as normal. My question is, what am I missing that excites the relay to work.
Double check the ground to the relay.

...
http://www.youtube.com/richpin06a

Last edited by richpin06; 12-14-2007 at 06:41 PM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to richpin06's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help richpin06 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
richpin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 09:08 PM   #3
Jims97
Junior Member
Jims97 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: AC relay help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by richpin06 View Post
Double check the ground to the relay.
Wouldn't happen to know where it grounds to would you?
I'm more familiar with the Bosch relays that have 5 connectors, one being ground. This Seimens only has 4, so I'm guessing it has to ground elsewhere.
Thanks

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jims97's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jims97 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jims97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 09:45 PM   #4
richpin06
Senior Member
richpin06 is a jewel in the roughrichpin06 is a jewel in the roughrichpin06 is a jewel in the roughrichpin06 is a jewel in the rough
 
richpin06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 1,849
 

1998 SL2
Default Re: AC relay help please

Ground should be present at socket #85 on the box.Just remove the relay and check the socket.

...
http://www.youtube.com/richpin06a

Last edited by richpin06; 12-14-2007 at 09:51 PM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to richpin06's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help richpin06 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
richpin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got my new Relay 3 NewToSaturn2 Relay General 9 04-12-2005 05:36 PM
Relay saturncanuck Relay General 58 01-20-2005 07:01 PM
Relay corey@okemos Relay General 13 11-09-2004 01:48 PM
Relay saturncanuck Relay General 7 11-08-2004 12:52 PM
Relay... Yokozuna Relay General 16 12-03-2003 05:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.