SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2006, 12:34 AM   #1
DJboozeAlot
Advanced Member
DJboozeAlot is on a distinguished road
 
DJboozeAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest
Posts: 693
 

1996 SC2
Default Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

i have a 96 SC2 that runs rough at times and stutters/hesitates at all speeds and rpms. the check engine light is either on or blinking, took it to Autozone and they pulled the codes, the only one was for the camshaft position sensor. i have a chiltons manual (useless about 50% of the time anyways) and it's not even in there, only crankshaft position sensor is in the manual.

anyone know where this sensor is located, with any pictures if possible?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DJboozeAlot's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DJboozeAlot reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DJboozeAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-05-2006, 12:47 AM   #2
westwind999
Senior Member
westwind999 will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,707
 

1999 SL2
1999 SW1
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

If someone didn't beat me to it, it's a problem with your coil pack, probably corrosion. Do a search and you'll find lots of reading. It has no cam sensor.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to westwind999's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help westwind999 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
westwind999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 12:58 AM   #3
captsam
Member
captsam is on a distinguished road
 
captsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 192

1997 SW2
1996 SL2
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

If it's the crank position sensor you can buy those at the local parts shop for about $12. I think I bought one at Kragen for about that much. It's a bit of a pain to find. If you're directly underneath the car, it'll be just above the starter. You have to take off the plastic cover that snaps over the starter to see it. It's a real pain. I believe there are pictures on the internet of the CPS. Try googling it. I remember someone had posted a fix for it, but it's still a pain to get to. It's fastened by one tiny screw, and it's at a bad angle to get at. Try doing the search with Crank Position Sensor instead of Camshaft.

Good luck.


Sam

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJboozeAlot View Post
i have a 96 SC2 that runs rough at times and stutters/hesitates at all speeds and rpms. the check engine light is either on or blinking, took it to Autozone and they pulled the codes, the only one was for the camshaft position sensor. i have a chiltons manual (useless about 50% of the time anyways) and it's not even in there, only crankshaft position sensor is in the manual.

anyone know where this sensor is located, with any pictures if possible?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to captsam's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help captsam reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
captsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 01:12 AM   #4
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about
 
Uzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Posts: 9,329
 

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

Quote:
Originally Posted by captsam View Post
If it's the crank position sensor you can buy those at the local parts shop for about $12. I think I bought one at Kragen for about that much. It's a bit of a pain to find. If you're directly underneath the car, it'll be just above the starter. You have to take off the plastic cover that snaps over the starter to see it. It's a real pain. I believe there are pictures on the internet of the CPS. Try googling it. I remember someone had posted a fix for it, but it's still a pain to get to. It's fastened by one tiny screw, and it's at a bad angle to get at. Try doing the search with Crank Position Sensor instead of Camshaft.

Good luck.


Sam
The crank position sensor doesn't set a code, and a Saturn doesn't have a Camshaft position sensor.

Westwind is right. Check the ignition system, and clean or replace any components, from the DIS module, to the plugs and everything inbetween.

...
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
...
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
...
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Uzzy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Uzzy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 01:17 AM   #5
captsam
Member
captsam is on a distinguished road
 
captsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 192

1997 SW2
1996 SL2
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

Try this link for the crankshaft position sensor:


http://www.aa1car.com/library/saturn04.htm

Try this one from the SaturnFans Forum:

http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69687


The coils are easier to change, just a couple of screws, and four ignition wires... so you should probably change those first before trying to CPS. The CPS is a real pain. Does your problem only occur when the car is warm or when the car is cold and warm? If it only occurs when the car is warm/hot, it's more likely the CPS. If not, probably ignition problem.

Last edited by captsam; 12-05-2006 at 01:22 AM.. Reason: Updated Links/Advice

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to captsam's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help captsam reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
captsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 01:23 AM   #6
wolfman
Super Member
wolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of light
 
wolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,066
 
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

As others have posted, the "S" series does not have a "Camshaft Position Sensor" so far as it being someting you can replace. That code in an "S" series is usually generated by a fault in the ignition system:

Spark plugs, spark plug wires, corroded coilpack towers or coilpack to block attaching bolts.

While your "S" series DOES have a Crankshaft Position Sensor, it will NOT set a code on a car that actually still runs. The ONLY code that can be set by a faulty Crankshaft Position Sensor is basically a "No signal" code...which would mean that the car would not actually run....as in AT ALL.

...
Old Saturns never die, people KILL them, so check your damn oil!
"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth." Albert Einstein

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wolfman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help wolfman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
wolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 10:35 AM   #7
DJboozeAlot
Advanced Member
DJboozeAlot is on a distinguished road
 
DJboozeAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest
Posts: 693
 

1996 SC2
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

thanks guys, will check igintion system today.

and Wolfman, i havent been on the board in a while, last i heard you "retired" at an even 10,000 posts... what made you decide to come out of retirement?? glad to see you back though

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DJboozeAlot's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DJboozeAlot reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DJboozeAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 12:58 PM   #8
Luke
Master Member
Luke will become famous soon enough
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Laguna Bch, CA
Posts: 4,159

1995 SL2
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

Quote:
> DJ <
last i heard you "retired" at an even 10,000 posts.
Noooooooo way. We've just allowed him to sit back for awhile, check in periodically, and then submit something, when he realizes we don't know what we're talking about; Remember, he needs OUR permission to fully retire.......

...
> 95 SL 2 = 653,369 Miles 40.4 MPG, as of 5/20/11. My manual Radiator Fan Switch, courtesy of Wolfman's patient installation guidance, continues to be.......invaluable < The car was retired

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Luke's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Luke reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 01:04 PM   #9
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about
 
Uzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Posts: 9,329
 

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJboozeAlot View Post
and Wolfman, i havent been on the board in a while, last i heard you "retired" at an even 10,000 posts... what made you decide to come out of retirement?? glad to see you back though
He joined the ranks of Michael Jordan, Jay-Z, Barbera Streisand, and so on.... (doesn't Eminem have a new album comming out too)? He's a Saturnfans megastar.

He keeps trying to get out, but he keeps getting pulled back in.

...
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
...
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
...
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Uzzy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Uzzy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 01:26 PM   #10
eljefino
Master Member
eljefino will become famous soon enough
 
eljefino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Standish Maine
Posts: 5,788
 

1995 SW1
2000 SL1
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

If your old plugs weren't real crusty critters I wouldn't worry about the new ones.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to eljefino's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help eljefino reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
eljefino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 05:22 PM   #11
DJboozeAlot
Advanced Member
DJboozeAlot is on a distinguished road
 
DJboozeAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midwest
Posts: 693
 

1996 SC2
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

the old ones looked pretty bad, and you could tell the old ones werent too old either by looking at the rest of the plug. i just bought the car so i dont know when they were changed last.

the new ones shouldnt look like they do after 5 miles of driving. i just want to know whats causing them to look they way they do... it's probably related to my check engine light being on and i want that to go off!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DJboozeAlot's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DJboozeAlot reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DJboozeAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:38 PM   #12
westwind999
Senior Member
westwind999 will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,707
 

1999 SL2
1999 SW1
Default Re: Camshaft Position Sensor on a 96 SC2...

Your plugs don't look unusual to me but it's hard to tell from a picture. I fthe code is still coming up you probably need to take the coil off and clean all the connections up as well as the mounting surface to the block. It probably isn't grounding very well if there's some corrosion. I've also heard that the routing of the wires can thow the code too but I'm not sure what routing would cause this.

Do a search for Cam Angle Sensor or the code number and you'll find tons of info.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to westwind999's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help westwind999 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
westwind999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P0341 code Camshaft Position Sensor Isis S-Series Tech 1 04-09-2008 02:55 PM
96 sl1 camshaft position sensor irondiezl3 S-Series Tech 10 09-15-2007 07:40 PM
Camshaft Position Sensor A t2oo5 S-Series Tech 4 03-13-2007 01:42 PM
camshaft position sensor ThePassenger L-Series General 1 05-05-2006 08:38 AM
Camshaft position sensor availability snydley S-Series Tech 12 12-07-2004 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.