SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2007, 09:11 PM   #1
misconceptionz
New Member
misconceptionz is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default 01 sc1 tranny probs

Allright so heres the problem. I have an 01 sc1 sohc but a few years back I did a swap to an sc2's transmission as the gear ratios were closer. At the time of this swap I had to take the car to saturn to get the computer flashed otherwise it wouldn't start. Well I haven't driven the car in a few years as it has been in storage. Before I put it away though I had to jump start the car and through the fluctuation of voltage while jumpstarting I have run into the same problem as before where the starter would not turn over when you tried to start it with the clutch in. My question is do you think that I need to get the computer re-programmed again or is there a way that I can trick the computer into thinking that the clutch is ingaged at all times so that it will alow the starter to work as I think it is a sensor that is different between the two trannys that is causing my problems.
Thanks

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to misconceptionz's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help misconceptionz reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
misconceptionz is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-2007, 10:55 PM   #2
Uzzy
Master Member
Uzzy has a spectacular aura aboutUzzy has a spectacular aura about
 
Uzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Posts: 9,326
 

2002 SC1
2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: 01 sc1 tranny probs

I thought with a manual, you didn't need to do anything to the computer. You can't use a DOHC auto on a SOHC motor, because of the computer, but for a manual, it shouldn't matter. Who did the swap? I think the issue is with the switch only. It can be by-passed, but I'm not sure how.

...
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
...
If your ECTS is not brass...your ass is grass.
...
If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire Uzzy.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Uzzy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Uzzy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Uzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 11:46 PM   #3
ssicarman
Super Member
ssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to behold
 
ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 10,448
 
Default Re: 01 sc1 tranny probs

Welcome to the Board.

Use standard no start diagnosis. If the engine is not cranking with the key make sure that your battery is ok. Check for corrosion at the terminals. Try boosting it. Make sure that you are getting a start signal to the starter via the small purple wire at the starter. If you have power to it when the key is turned to start then the starter is not working. If no power then you need to look up stream.

The starting system between the DOHC and the SOHC engines is the same.

...
A lousy day in paradise is still a day in paradise.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to ssicarman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help ssicarman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:33 AM   #4
BarnOwl
Super Member
BarnOwl is just really niceBarnOwl is just really niceBarnOwl is just really niceBarnOwl is just really nice
 
BarnOwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 10,029
 

2000 SW2
1998 SL2
Default Re: 01 sc1 tranny probs

There is no difference in sensors on a manual transmission. Nor is there any reason you would need to get the computer reprogrammed if you performed a swap from a manual SOHC transmission to a manual DOHC transmission. Going from an automatic to a 5-speed would require some reprogramming. However, if it ever ran properly, that's done and no more is necessary.

Do as ssicarman recommends and make sure the starter is seeing the 12 volts and work your way back from there.

...
There is nothing more frightening than ignorance in action.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BarnOwl's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BarnOwl reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BarnOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
98 SC1 tranny problem jillz S-Series General 2 05-10-2009 08:23 AM
99 Sc1 5 spd tranny help 88z28ss S-Series Tech 3 02-08-2009 12:23 AM
SC1 Tranny issue...help please dodo S-Series Tech 1 10-02-2008 10:50 AM
97 SC1 Tranny problems chevy57 S-Series Tech 0 12-21-2007 08:48 PM
2000 L2 Wagon-tranny Probs HUNTINGSANTA L-Series General 0 06-20-2005 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.