SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2017, 11:36 AM   #1
Nekomimi
Member
Nekomimi is on a distinguished road
 
Nekomimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 334
 

1996 SL1
Default Can I run an indicater light through the range-switch test leads

As the title suggests, I'm wanting to run a light through the test circuit.
So I will always know if its in the right "D" position or not by having an led on the dash.

So, can I put current through it, if so, how much, or is it already powered?

This switch,.. I don't like this switch, and it doesn't like me.

...
'96 SL1 Originally the family car, passed on to me as my first. "Hellcat" 226,000+ miles and purring smooth.My Mug is filled with the lost souls of imports.
I Want SAAB Soccerballs. But they're 4x115

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Nekomimi's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Nekomimi reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Nekomimi is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 10-27-2017, 11:41 AM   #2
toggenburg
Master Member
toggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to beholdtoggenburg is a splendid one to behold
 
toggenburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of Bedford, Virginia
Posts: 2,354

2001 SL1
Default Re: Can I run an indicater light through the range-switch test leads

Is it that you are having an issue trying to make sure if you are in P, R, N, D + and your selector bulbs are burnt out or you are not quite dead-on the gear position?

That selector switch is adjustable to ensure you are exactly on where you want it to be.

Try this RichPin video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjwxw8A08Sw

Thanks RICH!

Last edited by toggenburg; 10-27-2017 at 11:49 AM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to toggenburg's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help toggenburg reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
toggenburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2017, 01:45 PM   #3
Nekomimi
Member
Nekomimi is on a distinguished road
 
Nekomimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 334
 

1996 SL1
Default Re: Can I run an indicater light through the range-switch test leads

Mine slowly changes position over time, / is never 100% where its supposed to be even after adjustments, ive fought this every time done all sorts of things. Its also held on by one bolt, I popped the other one long ago, and its not any shape or form practical to get at and remove it. There's also a ridiculous amount if play between the shaft and the part that rotates witch causes ridiculous inconsistencies in position detection because its never going to land in the same place twice.

So I was thinking I'll put a light connected to the "D" continuity circuit so I'll know where it is all the time ^ .^

...
'96 SL1 Originally the family car, passed on to me as my first. "Hellcat" 226,000+ miles and purring smooth.My Mug is filled with the lost souls of imports.
I Want SAAB Soccerballs. But they're 4x115

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Nekomimi's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Nekomimi reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Nekomimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2017, 05:02 PM   #4
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond repute
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 63,552
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: Can I run an indicater light through the range-switch test leads

Use an LED and low voltage source.

Cut a slot in broken bolt and get it out with screw driver. Be sure to smack the bolt repeatedly multiple sharp blows before atempting to screw it out.

A replacement range switch is not a bad idea either, P&P has plenty of them.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range Switch Shenanigans Nekomimi S-Series Tech 12 10-04-2014 06:59 PM
P0706 code with new range switch fuadramsey S-Series Tech 6 09-01-2013 07:59 AM
DTC P0706 Trans Range Switch Performance ivymotorsports S-Series Tech 1 04-26-2009 12:12 AM
Automatic Range Switch, different!? KingRex S-Series Tech 4 03-17-2009 06:31 PM
Transaxle Range Switch\Neutral Start Safety Switch lonelywolf8588 S-Series Tech 2 07-20-2006 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.