SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
funnsoup
New Member
funnsoup is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default 15 AMP HVAC fuse

I was driving around when the air stopped blowing on my 2002 SL. Now the fan speed control and defrost and recycle buttons do not work.

I replaced the interior fuse 15 AMP tested and the fuse blew immediately.

What are your recommendations for the next logical place to test?

Thanks in advance...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to funnsoup's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help funnsoup reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
funnsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 07-26-2012, 08:35 AM   #2
BV22
Senior Member
BV22 will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,488

2002 SC1
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

Clearly, you have a short somewhere. I would imagine that the blower motor is the highest current user on that circuit, so I suggest you disconnect the blower, replace the fuse and see if the other features on that circuit work without blowing the fuse. Take a good look at the wiring loom going to the blower while you are in there. If this works, a new blower motor may be the solution.

Ideally, you need a wiring diagram to determine all the items served by that fused circuit. Then you can disconnect the various items until you isolate the one that is causing the fuse to blow. However, if the short is in the wiring, that can be much harder to find.

...
BV22
2002 SC1 5M
238k 07/14

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BV22's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BV22 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BV22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 10:22 AM   #3
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 50,563
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

No one can tell you where to check until you tell us which year and model Saturn you have. But you do have a short so quit replacing fuses randomly as the entire panel will fail.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 11:15 AM   #4
funnsoup
New Member
funnsoup is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

It is a 2002 SL.

Will try disconnecting the blower motor.

Are there any good resources for wiring diagrams online?

Last edited by funnsoup; 07-26-2012 at 11:20 AM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to funnsoup's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help funnsoup reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
funnsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:57 PM   #5
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 50,563
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

ALL Data would be my recommendation. http://www.alldatadiy.com/index.html

The wiring diagram is in this thread. http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/sho...ghlight=blower I would disconnect the control head and motor and connect a 12V bulb across a blown fuse as a test device and then apply power looking for the ground, the bulb will light if you have a ground.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #6
funnsoup
New Member
funnsoup is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

So the fuse has been replaced and I can press the rear defrost and get a light.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to funnsoup's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help funnsoup reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
funnsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:24 PM   #7
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 50,563
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

What have you disconnected?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:45 PM   #8
funnsoup
New Member
funnsoup is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

Oldnuc,

I am not sure I follow what would need to be done after disconnecting the motor and control head to test with a bulb?

Can you provide more detail?

Thanks

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to funnsoup's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help funnsoup reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
funnsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:22 PM   #9
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 50,563
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

Take a blown fuse and break it open to get to the top of the contact blades and solder a small 12v bulb between the contacts. Replace your HVAC fuse with the modified light bulb fuse. Does the bulb light with the control head and blower disconnected? If NO then remove the bulb fuse and reconnect the control head. Reinsert the bulb fuse, does the bulb light? If NO then cycle the control head through all switch positions watching the bulb in eacjh position. IF it does not light in any position then teh control head is likely good.

Have you applied 12v directly to the motor from the battery yet? If not do that as well.

Post back results.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:28 PM   #10
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 50,563
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

Do you have a voltmeter?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 08:02 PM   #11
funnsoup
New Member
funnsoup is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

I made the fuse light bulb combo. With the blower and control head unplugged not light. The light did not work until the blower motor and control head were plugged back in. The bulb lighted at each of the four positions.

After reconnecting all items everything works. I imagine that something needed to be seated better for whatever reason. Most likely the blower motor as its wiring is exposed under the passenger side of the dash.

Thanks for all the assistance.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to funnsoup's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help funnsoup reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
funnsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 08:14 PM   #12
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud ofOldNuc has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 50,563
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: 15 AMP HVAC fuse

Whatever the problem was it went away, hopefully for good.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dome/trunk light fuse = same fuse? stoke21 L-Series General 5 10-29-2010 07:15 PM
Best 12v Switched Fuse For Interior Fuse Box? 803scdantes S-Series Tech 2 03-11-2010 06:25 PM
Missing fuse in fuse box middleman L-Series Tech 2 01-31-2010 09:58 PM
Detailer cracked HVAC control lighted bezel; new HVAC control unit or quick fix? Jldet5 Vue General 1 07-09-2006 04:51 PM
Supply Spare Fuse in Fuse Box mazzmn Suggestion Box 3 12-05-2004 10:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.