SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Categories > General Saturn Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2003, 02:58 PM   #1
DOMESTIC_Disturbance
Member
DOMESTIC_Disturbance is on a distinguished road
 
DOMESTIC_Disturbance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
 
Question Advanced Audio System wiring.....

Does anyone have a wiring diagram for the AAS systems in the L300s? And I don't think they have RCA outs on the back of them, is that correct? I am trying to attach one 12" sub to my factory setup. I was thinking of piggy-backing it off of the factory woofer in ther rear deck. Any ideas or advice?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DOMESTIC_Disturbance's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DOMESTIC_Disturbance reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DOMESTIC_Disturbance is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-2003, 03:21 PM   #2
keith92
Junior Member
keith92 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 13
Default

just get an amp with a line out conversion, you hook that right up to your rear speakers, and boom, there ya go

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to keith92's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help keith92 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
keith92 is offline  
Old 05-01-2003, 03:29 PM   #3
DOMESTIC_Disturbance
Member
DOMESTIC_Disturbance is on a distinguished road
 
DOMESTIC_Disturbance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
 
Default

I think it takes a certain type of LOC to do that because of the amp in the factory system. Your LOC has to be able to convert the amplified signal down properly before pushing in on to the amp for the new sub.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DOMESTIC_Disturbance's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DOMESTIC_Disturbance reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DOMESTIC_Disturbance is offline  
Old 05-01-2003, 05:10 PM   #4
bbriand
Member
bbriand is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 291
 
Default

It hasn't been updated in a while but I always find this FAQ to be well worth the read and as a reference:
Car Audio FAQ

I would be careful splicing in a sub direct off one of your rear speakers for the following reasons (anyone please feel free to correct me):
1. if you wire it in parallel then you may drop the ohms below what your deck can safely drive - possibly damaging the deck. Conversly if you wire it in series then your sound output volume from those 2 speakers will be noticeablly lowered (I guess you could compensate with fader and balance controls).

2. you'll need at least a low pass filter or else the highs may destroy your sub (highs being frequencies over 150-200 Hz).

My personal preference is to have my sub do the lows, my mids to the mids and my tweets do the highs. I would at least try to get the lows out of my midrange woofers with a high pass crossover.

If you want the schematics I have found my Saturn Dealer at least to be very helpfull for wiring diagrams. They even turned their heads while I photocopied some pages from the technical references. I would try your Saturn dealer first.

Bill

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to bbriand's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help bbriand reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
bbriand is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 12:06 AM   #5
Bigbadbert
Senior Member
Bigbadbert is on a distinguished road
 
Bigbadbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: texas
Posts: 1,119
 
Default

You can go to an audio store and get an input/output you can wire on to your deck for your rcas, and since you have a sub already, there should at least be a small amp. If there is, just splice into that remote wire to use for your new amp. I dont know much about the L300 wiring or anything...I just know what Ive done to mine. It shouldnt be that hard to do. But if by piggy backin, you mean running speaker wires from the factory sub to new one, most likely it will sound like crap, cuz I doubt there will be enough amperage to push both subs sufficiently, most likely causing damage to both.

...
'01 SC2 - sold

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Bigbadbert's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Bigbadbert reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Bigbadbert is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 05:37 AM   #6
dmccreary860
Advanced Member
dmccreary860 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 607
Default

DD:

I put a little self-powered tube sub in the trunk of my L300.

I connected wires to the stock sub in the rear in parallel, and ran them down to the amplifier on my tube sub. My sub had a built-in line-level convertor that takes the powered signal and drops it down for use as an input to be powered by the amp.

That's it. Because I like to go racing and need to take out the weight, I wired my sub with one plug where I can connect/disconnect quickly. Running the power and/or signal wires were the most difficult....

This WILL NOT put an extra load on your stock amp if you do it this way. If you take it somewhere to have it professionally installed, they will do the same if your deck doesn't have pre-amp outputs.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dmccreary860's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dmccreary860 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
dmccreary860 is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 10:34 AM   #7
DOMESTIC_Disturbance
Member
DOMESTIC_Disturbance is on a distinguished road
 
DOMESTIC_Disturbance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
 
Default

DMC:

Thank A LOT!! That is exactly what I plan on doing, only I'm using a single 12" sub instead of a tube. Time to go amp shopping.......

BTW, please drop me a line, I want to know more about some of your mods and pick your brain a little.....

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DOMESTIC_Disturbance's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DOMESTIC_Disturbance reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DOMESTIC_Disturbance is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 12:22 PM   #8
dmccreary860
Advanced Member
dmccreary860 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 607
Default

No problem, but I'm leaving for three (or four) weeks tomorrow.

I have company training (wife and I are being flown in the company jet to the exotic locale of Pittsburgh for two weeks), and then I'm gonna take about a week or two of vacation to chill.

I'll take my laptop and my wife's for training, but after that I don't plan on touching them!

Good luck with your install - I'm sure it will sound good!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dmccreary860's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dmccreary860 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
dmccreary860 is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 12:32 PM   #9
playboyroy
Member
playboyroy is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 83
Default

You will need a better amp for any 12. I think the factory sub size is a 6.5 woofer. I recommend a high-output to RCA converter ($20) and running a new amp for your 12. www.etronics.com has alot of stereo stuff for all price range.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to playboyroy's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help playboyroy reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
playboyroy is offline  
Old 05-02-2003, 04:04 PM   #10
RustyJCNC
Advanced Member
RustyJCNC is on a distinguished road
 
RustyJCNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 901
 
Default

Run the RCA converter from the rear sub. I have my Rockford Amp running through the rear channel sub to the 12".

This allows you to have 2 subs (relatively). That way they both "hit" consistently. Also, this also eliminates running high frequencies to the sub, so it won't blow.

It works nicely for a "rigged" setup. Getting a new deck is the way to go, but this works pretty well as is.

-j

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RustyJCNC's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RustyJCNC reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RustyJCNC is offline  
Old 05-03-2003, 02:42 AM   #11
Arnel
Senior Member
Arnel is on a distinguished road
 
Arnel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA - Home of the World Champion Steelers & Penguins!
Posts: 1,259
 

2001 SC2
Default

Hey dmccreary860!

I'm from Pittsburgh!

You're just jealous 'cuz everything is cheaper in PA than CT, we don't pay tax on clothing, and radar detectors are allowed here!

Hehe.

...
93m SL1 "SLone" 145,000 mi. - RIP 10/08
94m SL2 "Ringo" 209,425 - ret. 7/31/07, RIP 10/08
01m SC2 "Lello" 129,000
07a GL VUE "Orbit" 48,900 - RIP 6/19/10
10a Ford Escape Hybrid - 8600 mi.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Arnel's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Arnel reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Arnel is offline  
Old 05-03-2003, 03:02 PM   #12
dmccreary860
Advanced Member
dmccreary860 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 607
Default

I know! I've never been to Pittsburgh and am looking forward to it. If my company relocated me to Pittsburgh (good chance of that), my wife and I would be pretty happy.

I'm from the Midwest, and am used to the nicer, newer cities, less expensive real estate, lower taxes, etc. CT pisses me off with high air pollution, high taxes, crappy roads, the governor, and the list goes on.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dmccreary860's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dmccreary860 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
dmccreary860 is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 08:47 AM   #13
JButler1983
Junior Member
JButler1983 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 32
Default

Hello, I'm looking to find out which wire is the factory "amp remote wire" for a 2003 L200. I have a sub and amp I am looking to hook-up to my factory 6-disc SAAS head-unit.

Thanks

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to JButler1983's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help JButler1983 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
JButler1983 is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 02:31 PM   #14
eljefino
Master Member
eljefino will become famous soon enough
 
eljefino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Standish Maine
Posts: 5,788
 

1995 SW1
2000 SL1
Default

The remote wire is usually blue. Poke it with a voltmeter, should be +12v powered up, off when it's off.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to eljefino's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help eljefino reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
eljefino is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
03 Advanced Audio Wiring Diagram? Solareklypz Vue Tech 0 04-09-2008 01:24 PM
Wiring for Advanced Audio system in Vue, replace HU ?'s jinjimbob Vue Tech 12 11-07-2005 01:49 AM
Advanced Audio System DebsVUE General Saturn Discussion 32 09-24-2003 11:55 PM
Advanced Audio System - not so advanced? Qlara L-Series Tech 27 08-09-2001 02:51 PM
Advanced Audio System AudioLover Mods and Performance 9 06-05-2001 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.