SaturnFans.com Forums

SaturnFans.com Forums (http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/index.php)
-   Ion Tech (http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   cooling fan (http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=233973)

IONic_2004 03-06-2018 05:03 PM

cooling fan

not sure if i have a problem or not since i am new to these cars but im not sure if the radiator fan is working. i have not seen the temp gauge go passed half way, but i also turned the AC on and still did not see the fan come on.
none of the fuses were blown and still gotta check the fan itself but might have to remove it to get at the contacts
were still experiencing winter here so its still 30* here but with AC on shouldn't the fans have come on?

ruley73 03-06-2018 07:24 PM

Re: cooling fan

The fan does come on with the A/C. However, the A/C won't turn on until the ambient air temp gets above ~40F.

fdryer 03-06-2018 08:28 PM

IONic_2004, how can you expect ac to operate when outside temps are 30F? If its already below freezing, why would you expect ac to cool off the interior if outside air is already freezing and more likely to freeze anyone with just outside air coming into the cabin without using ac. In other Saturn models, service manuals describe ac not available when outside temps are below approximately 40F. Refrigeration doesn't work efficiently below 40F and some ac systems disable ac operation when temps fall below 40F. Ion service manuals do not mention this but there is way to tell if your ac system will work below 40F.